Skip Navigation
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina Show Links

SC State Board of Review
National Register of Historic Places

State Board of Review Meeting
SC State Board of Review Meeting March 2010

Responsibility for determining which properties within a state meet the National Register criteria for listing lies with the State Historic Preservation Officer and the State Board of Review. Before any National Register nominations are submitted to the Keeper of the National Register in Washington, they must be approved by this board, whose membership includes professionals in the fields of architecture, architectural history, history, archaeology, and other related disciplines. In addition, interested citizens are needed on the board. If a property meets the National Register criteria, the board recommends it for nomination.

In addition to this function, state laws give the Board authority to make decisions in specific situations involving local historic property tax incentives, state tax incentives, and state owned properties that are listed in the National Register.

The Board meets three times each year, typically on the third Friday in March, the fourth Friday in July, and the third Friday in November (these dates are subject to change). Terms of service for Board members are for two years, with the option of a two-year reappointment term.

Current Board members
(listed with hometown and profession or affiliation) are:

Mr. William L. Kinney, Jr., Chairman
Newspaper Editor
Member, SC Archives & History Commission

Dr. A.V. Huff, Jr.
Professor of History and V.P. for Academic Affairs 
(Retired), Furman University
Chairman, SC Archives & History Commission

Dr. J. Edward Lee
Professor of History and Director of Graduate Studies in History, Winthrop University
Member, SC Archives & History Commission

Dr. Lydia Mattice Brandt, Vice Chair
Assistant Professor of Art
University of South Carolina

Dr. Millicent Brown
Professor of History and Sociology
(Retired) Claflin University

Ms. Amalia Leifeste
Assistant Professor
Clemson/College of Charleston Graduate Program in Historic Preservation

Ms. Meg Gaillard
Heritage Trust Program, SC Department of Natural Resources

Ms. Amy Moore
Principal Preservation Planner
City of Columbia Planning and Development

Ms. Katherine Saunders Pemberton
Manager of Research and Education
Historic Charleston Foundation

Ms. Mary Catherine Hyman, AIA
Senior Planner
Horry County Planning & Zoning Department 

Mr. Christopher Judge
Assistant Director
Native American Studies Center, USC-Lancaster


Updated February 2018